- +

Under the strong experience and knowledge of more than 450 volunteers, a Board of Directors, and 340 staff, CHATS embraces professional best practices with compassionate dedication.

To learn about our recruitment process, please explore our Governance Processes document.

Christina Bisanz

Chief Executive Officer

As Chief Executive Officer of CHATS – Community & Home Assistance to Seniors, Christina has the pleasure of working with over 320 staff and nearly 500 volunteers, supporting the health and well-being of some 8,500 seniors and their family caregivers in York Region, and South Simcoe.

Christina is an acclaimed public affairs professional and community advocate whose career has included a range of accomplishments that have benefited numerous stakeholder groups and industry sectors. Christina has served as CEO and a senior executive with a number of healthcare organizations, including the Ontario Long Term Care Association, Canadian Association of Chain Drug Stores, the Canadian Association for Pharmacy Distribution Management, and Patient Care Automation Services Inc., an innovative healthcare technology company.

Currently, Christina represents CHATS on several health system planning groups. She is the founding co-chair of the Joint Executive Steering Committee of the Southlake Community Ontario Health Team (OHT) and chairs the Southlake Community OHT Community Support Sector Network Table, is a member of the Collaboration Council of the Western York Region OHT, and sits on the Eastern York Region North Durham OHT Home and Community Sector Network Table. Recently, Christina was appointed to the Ontario Health Central CSS Advisory Table.

Christina also serves as Ward 7 Councillor for the Town of Newmarket. First elected in 2014, she was subsequently acclaimed to this position for a second four-year term in 2018. Christina serves on the Town’s Audit Committee, Heritage Advisory Council, Central York Fire Services’ Joint Council Committee, and the Anti-Black Racism Taskforce.

Christina’s volunteer activities have also spanned numerous community and business associations. Currently, she serves on Seneca College’s Non-Profit Management and Leadership Advisory Council and York Region’s Human Services Planning Board. Previous governance roles also included Advertising Standards, Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame, the Canadian Foundation for Pharmacy, the Consumers Association of Canada, and the Ryerson University School of Nutrition and Food Science Advisory Council to name a few.

Christina graduated from the University of Toronto with an Honours Bachelor of Arts degree. She was awarded a Certificate of Distinction for successfully completing the requirements of Building a Culture of Good Governance from the Ontario Hospital Association, completed the LEADS Leadership Program for Health System Leaders, and is a peer surveyor with CARF, and international standards organization.

CHATS’ Executive Team

Melanie Rowe

Vice President, Client Care and Services

Juan Arangote

Vice President, Finance and Corporate Services

Janet Williams

Vice President, Human Resources

Kelly Broome

Vice President, Philanthropy and Communications

Mario Longo

Vice President, Quality and Strategic Initiatives

Board of Directors

CHATS is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors who, together, represent a diverse range of senior leadership experiences.


Mary Bayliss

Chair of the Board


Avijeet Parmar



John Buie

Board Member


Claudio DiGirolamo

Board Member


Rudi Genovese



Fareen Kassam



Javed Khan

Board Member


Han Koren

Board Member


Brenda MacPherson



David Robinson

Board Member


Grant Waddell


Give us a call. We are here to help! 905.713.6596